Header Ads

Biography of Jennifer Lawrence

 Jennifer Shrader Lawrence was born on August 15, 1990 in Kentucky, United States. She is a famous American actress known for her performances in films like “Winter’s Bone” (2010), “X-Men: First Class” (2011), and “The Hunger Games” (2012). She started in the acting world at an early age, participating in school theatrical productions. She made her television debut in “Company Town” (2006) and later on the big screen with “Garden Party” (2008) by Jason Freeland. In 2010, she was nominated for an Oscar for her performance in “Winter’s Bone” and gained recognition for playing Mystique in the X-Men saga (2011-2017) and Katniss Everdeen in “The Hunger Games” (2012-2015). Today, she is considered one of the most versatile and successful actresses in Hollywood.

Family and beginnings

Jennifer Shrader Lawrence is the daughter of Gary and Karen Lawrence. Her father works in construction and her mother is the director of a children’s camp. She has two older brothers, Ben and Blaine. She grew up in an environment where her mother treated her the same way as her brothers, which made her stronger and more challenging than her schoolmates. From a young age she showed interest in the performing arts, performing various characters for her father, such as a clown or dancer. At the age of 9, she took part in a church play based on the Book of Jonah. From then on, she participated in both church plays and school musicals. Once she finished elementary school, she enrolled in Kammerer High School in Louisville.

2004 – Discovered by a talent scout.

During her student years, Lawrence was involved in various school activities and played sports such as hockey, basketball, softball, and gymnastics. She also rode horses in her free time and helped her mother with the activities of the camp she ran. In 2004, while on vacation with her family in New York, she was discovered on the street by a talent agent who convinced her to attend her first audition. Although her mother did not support her interest in acting, she allowed her to stay in New York to audition for various roles. In these auditions, Lawrence caught the attention of various agents and other figures in the film industry. She signed a contract with the talent agency CESD, who convinced her mother to let Lawrence focus on her career.

2006 – Acting debut

At the age of fourteen, she dropped out of school to fully concentrate on her acting career. She settled in New York and started making her way in the entertainment world working as a model. After two years of auditions and rehearsals, Lawrence managed to debut as an actress playing Caitlin in the television film Company Town (2006), directed by Thomas Carter. From then on, she started to become known as an actress playing supporting roles in the series Monk (2006), Cold Case (2007), and Medium (2007-2008). In the latter, she portrayed the young version of the protagonist Allison, who is played by Patricia Arquette.

Jennifer Lawrence’s acting career

After settling in Los Angeles, Jennifer Lawrence made her big-screen debut in the dramatic film “Garden Party” (2008) by Jason Freeland, playing the role of Tiffany. That same year, she worked on “The Burning Plain” (2008) by Guillermo Arriaga and starred in “The Poker House” (2008) alongside Chloë Grace Moretz, Javon Johnson, and Sophi Bairley. During this time, she also acted in the family series “The Bill Engvall Show” (2007-2009), playing Lauren Pearson, the daughter of a family counselor who tries to keep peace and unity in the family while facing the stress of work and typical family problems related to the growth of children.

2010 – Nominated for the Oscar.

In 2010, she shot to fame after being nominated for an Oscar for her performance in “Winter’s Bone” (2010), a drama by Debra Granik that focuses on the life of young Ree Dolly and her struggle to keep her family together after the disappearance of her father. Lawrence’s outstanding performance in the film earned her several awards, including the Breakthrough Actress Award from the Chicago Film Critics Association and the Best Actress awards from the Toronto Film Critics Association, the San Diego Film Critics Society, and the Vancouver Film Critics Circle.

Some of her movie performances

After the success of Winter’s Bone (2010), Lawrence worked with Mel Gibson in Jodie Foster’s film, The Beaver (2011), and she was then seen playing the iconic Marvel character, Mystique, in X-Men: First Class (2011), a film in which she worked with Michael Fassbender, James McAvoy, Kevin Bacon, and Nicholas Hoult, among others. Lawrence reprised her role as the mutant in X-Men: Apocalypse (2016) and X-Men: Dark Phoenix (2019), working with the teenage versions of Cyclops (Tye Sheridan), Jean Grey (Sophie Turner), and Storm (Alexandra Shipp).

In 2012, Jennifer Lawrence first portrayed the warrior Katniss Everdeen in the first installment of “The Hunger Games” (2012), a film based on the work of Suzanne Collins. In this she shared the lead role with Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth. She returned to play Katniss in “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” (2013), “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1” and “Part 2” (2014-2015). Around this time, she starred in “Silver Linings Playbook” (2012), a film that earned her her first Academy Award and Golden Globe for Best Actress. She then appeared in “American Hustle” (2013) and “Serena” (2014), a film where she shared the lead role with Bradley Cooper. After starring in “Joy” (2015), Lawrence starred alongside Chris Pratt in the successful science fiction film “Passengers” (2016). Soon after, she starred in Darren Aronofsky’s horror film “Mother!” (2017) and “Red Sparrow” (2018) directed by Francis Lawrence.

Powered by Blogger.